Featured Article

Study up on churn rate basics to set customer and revenue benchmarks

What’s a good monthly churn rate?

Comment

Warning sign cliff ahead, West fjords, Iceland
Image Credits: Arctic Images (opens in a new window) / Getty Images

Sid Jain

Contributor
Sid is a senior analyst at ChartMogul, a subscription SaaS subscription analytics platform.

More posts from Sid Jain

Churn gets a lot of bad press. Yes, it is complex and confusing, but as a metric, it is helpful.

In the early stages of building a company, churn gives you quick feedback, which other metrics seldom do. Studying churn lets you run tests on your platform and get feedback in a few days or months.

In this post, we dive deep into churn. First, we answer a few key questions: What is churn? What are its different types? And how can it be negative?

Then, we dive into churn benchmarks. We analyze anonymized and aggregated data to answer the question: What is a good churn rate?

So without any further ado, let’s dive in.

What is churn?

Churn is an indicator of the health of your existing subscriber base. In simple terms, churn is the rate at which your SaaS business loses customers or revenue.

From a high level, you can look at churn in two ways:

  1. Customer churn — measures the rate at which customers are leaving your SaaS business.
  2. Revenue churn — measures the rate at which revenue is leaving your SaaS business.

Why look at customer and revenue churn separately?

Depending on the revenue concentration, customer churn can be different from revenue churn. Hence, it’s good to look at both numbers.

For example, imagine you’re running a SaaS business with three customers: A, B and C. Their monthly recurring revenue (MRR) is $20, $30 and $50, respectively (for a total MRR of $100).

Now, one day, C decides to cancel their subscription and churn. So when you calculate your customer churn rate for the month, it will be 33% (as one of three customers churned). But if you calculate your revenue churn rate, it will be 50%. This is because C made up 50% of your MRR.

Types of revenue churn

Let’s dig a little deeper into revenue churn. You can calculate revenue churn in two different ways:

  1. Gross basis — This is called gross MRR churn because it only takes into account the MRR lost (and not MRR gained) from your existing customers. As a reminder, you lose MRR from your existing customers via both churn and downgrades.
  2. Net basis — This is called net MRR churn because you net the MRR lost and gained from your existing subscriber base. So you lose MRR via churn and downgrades, but you also gain MRR via expansion and reactivation. Net MRR churn gives you a more holistic picture of the state of your subscriber base.

Here’s how you calculate your gross and net MRR churn rates:

  • Gross MRR churn rate — (sum of churn and contraction MRR) / (MRR at start of period).
  • Net MRR churn rate — (sum of churn and contraction MRR – sum of expansion an reactivation MRR) / (MRR at start of period).

How can churn be negative?

If you spend a little more time thinking about the churn formulas, you can infer two things:

  1. By definition, gross MRR churn will always be higher than net MRR churn. This is because gross MRR churn only takes into account the MRR lost, while net MRR churn also takes into account MRR gained.
  2. Net MRR churn can be negative. Net MRR chain takes into account both the MRR you lost and gained from existing subscribers. If the MRR gained from existing customers (expansion + reactivation) exceeds the MRR lost (churn contraction), your net MRR churn rate will be negative.

Why is net MRR churn rate called “SaaS nirvana?”

Negative net MRR churn is akin to SaaS nirvana because with each passing month, your existing subscribers become more and more valuable.

In a sense, your business can grow organically as you don’t need to spend any money on acquiring new customers.

What is a good monthly churn rate?

Now that you’ve got a good understanding of churn, let’s explore what makes a good monthly churn rate.

In this section, we’ll look at benchmarks for gross and net MRR churn split by MRR and ARPA bands.

(As a reminder, ARPA is the average revenue per account, i.e., average MRR across all your customers. It’s also known as ARPU or APRC.)

Why look at churn benchmarks by ARPA bands? Well, everything is sort of the same at a given ARPA value. The way you sell, the way you service and the way you retain all depend on your ARPA.

So for metrics such as churn, the best practice is to benchmark your startup in comparison to other businesses within the same ARPA band.

Gross MRR churn benchmarks

The chart below shows the median monthly gross MRR churn rate by ARPA bands. As you’ll notice, the higher the ARPA, the lower the gross MRR churn rate.

For example, companies with ARPA per month in the range of $0-$10 have a monthly gross MRR churn rate of 8.9%. As ARPA increases, the gross MRR churn rate decreases. It goes down to 2.5% for companies with an ARPA per month of over $500.

Why does the gross MRR churn rate decrease as ARPA increases? Because the customer profile changes. At higher ARPA, you start to sell to businesses rather than to consumers. Also, generally, customers make a more informed decision when buying a costlier product and hence churn less.

Monthly gross MRR churn rate by ARPA per month
Image Credits: ChartMogul

In addition to the median, the chart below also shows the 25th and 75th percentiles of the gross MRR churn rate. You can use this data to benchmark your churn rate in comparison to your peers.

SaaS startups with ARPA of less than $100 should target a monthly gross MRR churn rate of under 3.5%, and those with ARPA of more than $100 should target a monthly gross MRR churn rate of under 2.5%.

Monthly gross MRR churn rate by ARPA bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

Now let’s move on and look at the median gross MRR churn rate split by MRR bands.

At the early stages of growth (less than $10,000 MRR), the median monthly gross MRR churn is high at 8.6%. As companies grow, find product-market fit and home into their customer segment, the churn reduces to about 4%-5% per month. It then stabilizes at that level and doesn’t reduce even when a company grows.

Monthly gross MRR churn rate by MRR bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

In addition to the median, the chart below also shows you the 25th and 75th percentiles of the gross MRR churn rate by MRR band.

The best companies at any stage of their growth should target a gross MRR churn rate of less than 2.5% per month.

Monthly gross MRR churn rate by MRR bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

Net MRR churn benchmarks

Now, let’s dive into benchmarks for net MRR churn rate. The chart below shows the net MRR churn rate split by ARPA per month bands.

As is the case with any churn rate versus ARPA graph, here, too, a higher ARPA correlates to a lower net MRR churn rate.

Monthly net MRR churn rate by ARPA bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

At higher APRA ranges, expansion starts to drive a lot of revenue, which contributes to negative churn.

The impact is so prominent that at higher ARPAs, net negative churn is the norm and not the exception. See the chart below: 53.4% of companies with ARPA higher than $500 have net negative churn.

Percentage of companies with negative net MRR churn by ARPA bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

Let’s now look at the 25th and 75th percentile of the monthly net MRR churn rate, in addition to the median.

Note that at the higher end of the range, some companies have a net MRR churn rate in excess of 11% per month. That’s too high, in our opinion. You just can’t create a sustainable SaaS business with that level of churn.

Monthly net MRR churn rate by ARPA bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

A monthly net MRR churn rate of 11% corresponds to losing almost three-quarters (75%) of your existing revenue over the next 12 months. It’s not at all sustainable.

Here is a helpful table that helps you look at the monthly churn and the corresponding yearly churn number.

Table showing monthly to yearly churn calculations
Image Credits: ChartMogul

The formula we use to get the annual churn rate from the monthly churn rate is: annual churn rate = (1– (1 – monthly churn rate)12).

If your business has a high churn rate, you won’t be able to compound your revenue, and the time and money you spent to acquire your customers (customer acquisition cost) will go to waste sooner.

Let’s move on and look at net MRR churn benchmarks by MRR bands. The chart below shows the median monthly net MRR churn rate by MRR bands.

As you’ll notice, the monthly net MRR churn rate is higher in the initial stages of the company, but decreases as the company grows. It stabilizes in the 1%-2% range.

Monthly net MRR churn rate by MRR bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

In addition to the median, the below chart also shows the 25th and 75th percentile of the net MRR churn rate.

The best SaaS companies should target a net negative churn ( i.e., net MRR churn rate of less than 0%).

Monthly net MRR churn rate by MRR bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

How can your business achieve negative churn? By building an expansion loop within it. This is the only sustainable way to get to negative churn. No matter what you do, customers are always going to churn. Your job is to increase your revenue from those who stay.

Achieving a net negative churn isn’t a distant dream. It’s very much achievable. In fact, close to a quarter of companies at any MRR range have net negative churn. So aim high and go for it.

Percentage of companies that have negative net MRR churn
Image Credits: ChartMogul

Calculation Methodology: We used anonymized and aggregated data to calculate these aggregates. We calculated the aggregates over a three-month period (January, February and March 2022). We used standard B2B churn formulas for all companies for easier comparability.

More TechCrunch

William A. Anders, the astronaut behind perhaps the single most iconic photo of our planet, has died at the age of 90. On Friday morning, Anders was piloting a small…

William Anders, astronaut who took the famous ‘Earthrise’ photo, dies at 90

You’re running out of time to join the Startup Battlefield 200, our curated showcase of top startups from around the world and across multiple industries. This elite cohort — 200…

Startup Battlefield 200 applications close tomorrow

New York’s state legislature has passed a bill that would prohibit social media companies from showing so-called “addictive feeds” to children under 18, unless they obtain parental consent. The Stop…

New York moves to limit kids’ access to ‘addictive feeds’

Dogs are the most popular pet in the U.S.: 65.1 million households have one, according to the American Pet Products Association. But while cats are not far off, with 46.5…

Cat-sitting startup Meowtel clawed its way to profitability despite trouble raising from dog-focused VCs

Anterior, a company that uses AI to expedite health insurance approval for medical procedures, has raised a $20 million Series A round at a $95 million post-money valuation led by…

Anterior grabs $20M from NEA to expedite health insurance approvals with AI

Welcome back to TechCrunch’s Week in Review — TechCrunch’s newsletter recapping the week’s biggest news. Want it in your inbox every Saturday? Sign up here. There’s more bad news for…

How India’s most valuable startup ended up being worth nothing

If death and taxes are inevitable, why are companies so prepared for taxes, but not for death? “I lost both of my parents in college, and it didn’t initially spark…

Bereave wants employers to suck a little less at navigating death

Google and Microsoft have made their developer conferences a showcase of their generative AI chops, and now all eyes are on next week’s Worldwide Developers Conference, which is expected to…

Apple needs to focus on making AI useful, not flashy

AI systems and large language models need to be trained on massive amounts of data to be accurate but they shouldn’t train on data that they don’t have the rights…

Deal Dive: Human Native AI is building the marketplace for AI training licensing deals

Before Wazer came along, “water jet cutting” and “affordable” didn’t belong in the same sentence. That changed in 2016, when the company launched the world’s first desktop water jet cutter,…

Wazer Pro is making desktop water jetting more affordable

Former Autonomy chief executive Mike Lynch issued a statement Thursday following his acquittal of criminal charges, ending a 13-year legal battle with Hewlett-Packard that became one of Silicon Valley’s biggest…

Autonomy’s Mike Lynch acquitted after US fraud trial brought by HP

Featured Article

What Snowflake isn’t saying about its customer data breaches

As another Snowflake customer confirms a data breach, the cloud data company says its position “remains unchanged.”

2 days ago
What Snowflake isn’t saying about its customer data breaches

Investor demand has been so strong for Rippling’s shares that it is letting former employees particpate in its tender offer. With one exception.

Rippling bans former employees who work at competitors like Deel and Workday from its tender offer stock sale

It turns out the space industry has a lot of ideas on how to improve NASA’s $11 billion, 15-year plan to collect and return samples from Mars. Seven of these…

NASA puts $10M down on Mars sample return proposals from Blue Origin, SpaceX and others

Featured Article

In 2024, many Y Combinator startups only want tiny seed rounds — but there’s a catch

When Bowery Capital general partner Loren Straub started talking to a startup from the latest Y Combinator accelerator batch a few months ago, she thought it was strange that the company didn’t have a lead investor for the round it was raising. Even stranger, the founders didn’t seem to be…

2 days ago
In 2024, many Y Combinator startups only want tiny seed rounds — but there’s a catch

The keynote will be focused on Apple’s software offerings and the developers that power them, including the latest versions of iOS, iPadOS, macOS, tvOS, visionOS and watchOS.

Watch Apple kick off WWDC 2024 right here

Welcome to Startups Weekly — Haje’s weekly recap of everything you can’t miss from the world of startups. Anna will be covering for him this week. Sign up here to…

Startups Weekly: Ups, downs, and silver linings

HSBC and BlackRock estimate that the Indian edtech giant Byju’s, once valued at $22 billion, is now worth nothing.

BlackRock has slashed the value of stake in Byju’s, once worth $22 billion, to zero

Apple is set to board the runaway locomotive that is generative AI at next week’s World Wide Developer Conference. Reports thus far have pointed to a partnership with OpenAI that…

Apple’s generative AI offering might not work with the standard iPhone 15

LinkedIn has confirmed it will no longer allow advertisers to target users based on data gleaned from their participation in LinkedIn Groups. The move comes more than three months after…

LinkedIn to limit targeted ads in EU after complaint over sensitive data use

Founders: Need plans this weekend? What better way to spend your time than applying to this year’s Startup Battlefield 200 at TechCrunch Disrupt. With Monday’s deadline looming, this is a…

Startup Battlefield 200 applications due Monday

The company is in the process of building a gigawatt-scale factory in Kentucky to produce its nickel-hydrogen batteries.

Novel battery manufacturer EnerVenue is raising $515M, per filing

Meta is quietly rolling out a new “Communities” feature on Messenger, the company confirmed to TechCrunch. The feature is designed to help organizations, schools and other private groups communicate in…

Meta quietly rolls out Communities on Messenger

Featured Article

Siri and Google Assistant look to generative AI for a new lease on life

Voice assistants in general are having an existential moment, and generative AI is poised to be the logical successor.

2 days ago
Siri and Google Assistant look to generative AI for a new lease on life

Education software provider PowerSchool is being taken private by investment firm Bain Capital in a $5.6 billion deal.

Bain to take K-12 education software provider PowerSchool private in $5.6B deal

Shopify has acquired Threads.com, the Sequoia-backed Slack alternative, Threads said on its website. The companies didn’t disclose the terms of the deal but said that the Threads.com team will join…

Shopify acquires Threads (no, not that one)

Featured Article

Bangladeshi police agents accused of selling citizens’ personal information on Telegram

Two senior police officials in Bangladesh are accused of collecting and selling citizens’ personal information to criminals on Telegram.

3 days ago
Bangladeshi police agents accused of selling citizens’ personal information on Telegram

Carta, a once-high-flying Silicon Valley startup that loudly backed away from one of its businesses earlier this year, is working on a secondary sale that would value the company at…

Carta’s valuation to be cut by $6.5 billion in upcoming secondary sale

Boeing’s Starliner spacecraft has successfully delivered two astronauts to the International Space Station, a key milestone in the aerospace giant’s quest to certify the capsule for regular crewed missions.  Starliner…

Boeing’s Starliner overcomes leaks and engine trouble to dock with ‘the big city in the sky’

Rivian needs to sell its new revamped vehicles at a profit in order to sustain itself long enough to get to the cheaper mass market R2 SUV on the road.

Rivian’s path to survival is now remarkably clear