Enterprise

The Math Behind SaaS Startup Customer Lifetime Value

Comment

Image Credits: R. MACKAY PHOTOGRAPHY, LLCY (opens in a new window) / Shutterstock (opens in a new window)

Tomasz Tunguz

Contributor

Tomasz Tunguz is the Founder of Theory Ventures.

More posts from Tomasz Tunguz

One of the most critical metrics for software companies — but also one of the most difficult to measure — is the lifetime value of their customers (LTV). The lifetime value dictates how a company should spend its marketing and sales dollars.

Unfortunately, many early stage startups struggle to measure LTV, because they haven’t been around very long and, consequently, haven’t seen a large number of customers through their lifespans with the product.

Most software companies calculate their LTV and a critical related metric, customer acquisition cost (CAC), using the following formulas:

Screenshot 2015-08-21 17.44.04

But rather than measure it in this way, an early startup must estimate its customer lifetime value. So, what’s the best way to do this?

One of the most innovative techniques I’ve seen was created by a Redpoint portfolio company founder, Vik Singh, CEO of Infer. Vik’s innovation is using a rolling sales and marketing period to estimate both LTV and CAC. I’ve asked Vik to explain his approach below.

Shortcomings Of Traditional LTV And CAC Calculations

If you’re running a startup like me, there are three key problems with the standard formulas for determining LTV and CAC:

  • Attributing sales and marketing spend to actual closed, won deals is very difficult in general, and even more pronounced for emerging SaaS companies that typically do not possess the marketing infrastructure for doing so.
  • You need years with a reasonably sized base of paying customers to truly understand your LTV, and you have to assume that your product or service isn’t changing much (for your LTV to hold up over time). These factors pretty much don’t exist for early SaaS companies, and can easily break for even later-stage companies that are highly innovative.
  • These are backwards-looking metrics. They tell you what your LTV or CAC was for a prior time period, but not what it’s shaping up to be, which is key for actionability.

While it’s often helpful for investors to use the traditional calculations (for example, one year of growth spend divided by the following year’s number of new customers) when generating comps for industry benchmarking across portfolio and publicly traded companies, these kind of generalizable formulas aren’t accurate or forward-looking enough to inform internal decision making and run a business.

As a company executive, you have access to more detailed numbers, a la your CRM and accounting systems — so it’s possible to build more advanced forecasting models to derive these metrics.

However, I would contend that you need rules of thumb that can be computed effortlessly. You can’t improve something if you can’t measure it, right? If you consistently monitor these key SaaS metrics, you can be more nimble about increasing LTV or decreasing CAC.

Calculating Expected CAC And LTV

So, here’s what I came up with that’s easy to compute, doesn’t depend on much closed sales data, is forwarding looking and better addresses the attribution gap. Let’s go…

The first thing you need is your cost per opportunity. Say you spent $10 million on sales and marketing (fully loaded — including salaries) in the month of June, and created 2,000 opportunities that month. Your cost per opportunity for June would be $5,000. This assumes a short opportunity lag time, which is common in the SaaS world, but you also could use the prior and following months to do the calculation if your sales cycle is longer.

Next, you want to determine your “expected” (as in probabilistic terms) CAC, using your opportunity win rate and average deal size, which shouldn’t fluctuate much. If, historically, your win rate has been 20 percent, and your average annual contract value (ACV) is $30,000, then your ECAC would work out as follows:

Expected # of New Customers = 0.2 (opportunity win rate) x 2K (opportunities) = 400
Expected CAC = $10 million (fully loaded growth spend) / 400 (expected new customers) = $25K

 

If you divide ECAC by your average ACV, you will derive the payback period (in months) — the time it will take for you to recoup your growth spend on acquiring that customer. In this case:

Expected Payback Period = $25K (ECAC) / $30K (first-year ACV) x 12 months = 10 months

 

The customer pays for itself two months before it’s up for renewal (assuming an annual contract), which is not bad. Related to payback, you can compute the return on investment (ROI) over a subscription period. For example:

Expected first-year ROI = ($30K (first-year ACV) – $25K (ECAC)) / $25K (ECAC) = 20 percent

 

And, if you know (or think) your ACV will appreciate 15 percent (so 115 percent of the first year ACV, or 1.15 in decimal form) if the customer renews for another year, then your expected ROI for two years of subscription works out as follows:

Expected second-year ACV = $30,000 * 1.15 (renewal increase) = $34,500
Expected two-year ROI = ($30,000 (first-year ACV) + $34,500 (second-year ACV) – $25K (ECAC)) / $25K (ECAC) = 158 percent

 

To compute LTV, you need to estimate how many years your typical customer will stay with you. This can take several years to find out using actual sales data, so if you don’t know, then be conservative based on other companies in your space (ask your investors!).

Let’s assume a three-year average lifetime — then, based on the assumptions above and on annual contracts (versus month-to-month service), you can forecast LTV as follows:

Expected LTV = ( $30K (average ACV) + $30K (average ACV) * 1.15 (renewal increase) * (1.15 (renewal increase) ^ (3-year lifetime – 1) – 1) / (1.15 (renewal increase) – 1) = $104,175

It will take more than two years to know your actual renewal increases if your renewals happen annually … and you probably won’t press hard on renewal increases after just one year with your earliest customers.

You can try analyzing industry comps to determine a good target, or just be conservative and remove the appreciation assumption, which also reduces the complexity of the formula (it would become $30K * 3 [estimated customer lifetime] = $90,000).

Finally, let’s put it together — divide ELTV by ECAC. Using the first ELTV value of $104,175, and dividing that by the ECAC of $25K, we get 4.167. From a company health perspective and what Andreessen Horowitz expects to see for a good SaaS business (3X or more), this is very good.

Continually Predict Your Business

Ask most SaaS executives what their CAC is and they’re likely to cite a number from a previous quarter or year. But because ECAC is based on the number of opportunities generated very recently (whether closed or not yet closed), it provides guidance on your current sales pipeline.

Another great thing about this technique is that you can adjust any rate and see how it changes the figures (i.e., decrease average deal size, increase the opportunity win rate and decrease lifetime value to see what the impact of, say, lowering your pricing scheme might look like).

Of course, the attribution of opportunities to growth spend isn’t perfect, but it’s much better than the outdated CAC used by most SaaS companies with which I’ve worked. This approach calls it out, so you’re forced to make an assumption, which is far better than the one-size-fits-all formulas we’re given by the investor community.

With the methodology above, an SaaS entrepreneur can compute their key SaaS metrics at any time. More frequent, useful guidance about a business will create a competitive edge by letting you read, predict, monitor and take advantage of market dynamics faster than other startups that might be crowding your space.

Thanks to Vik Singh for his significant contribution to this piece.

More TechCrunch

The prospects for troubled banking-as-a-service startup Synapse have gone from bad to worse this week after a United States Trustee filed an emergency motion on Wednesday.  The trustee is asking…

A US Trustee wants troubled fintech Synapse to be liquidated via Chapter 7 bankruptcy, cites ‘gross mismanagement’

U.K.-based Seraphim Space is spinning up its 13th accelerator program, with nine participating companies working on a range of tech from propulsion to in-space manufacturing and space situational awareness. The…

Seraphim’s latest space accelerator welcomes nine companies

OpenAI has reached a deal with Reddit to use the social news site’s data for training AI models. In a blog post on OpenAI’s press relations site, the company said…

OpenAI inks deal to train AI on Reddit data

X users will now be able to discover posts from new Communities that are trending directly from an Explore tab within the section.

X pushes more users to Communities

For Mark Zuckerberg’s 40th birthday, his wife got him a photoshoot. Zuckerberg gives the camera a sly smile as he sits amid a carefully crafted re-creation of his childhood bedroom.…

Mark Zuckerberg’s makeover: Midlife crisis or carefully crafted rebrand?

Strava announced a slew of features, including AI to weed out leaderboard cheats, a new ‘family’ subscription plan, dark mode and more.

Strava taps AI to weed out leaderboard cheats, unveils ‘family’ plan, dark mode and more

We all fall down sometimes. Astronauts are no exception. You need to be in peak physical condition for space travel, but bulky space suits and lower gravity levels can be…

Astronauts fall over. Robotic limbs can help them back up.

Microsoft will launch its custom Cobalt 100 chips to customers as a public preview at its Build conference next week, TechCrunch has learned. In an analyst briefing ahead of Build,…

Microsoft’s custom Cobalt chips will come to Azure next week

What a wild week for transportation news! It was a smorgasbord of news that seemed to touch every sector and theme in transportation.

Tesla keeps cutting jobs and the feds probe Waymo

Sony Music Group has sent letters to more than 700 tech companies and music streaming services to warn them not to use its music to train AI without explicit permission.…

Sony Music warns tech companies over ‘unauthorized’ use of its content to train AI

Winston Chi, Butter’s founder and CEO, told TechCrunch that “most parties, including our investors and us, are making money” from the exit.

GrubMarket buys Butter to give its food distribution tech an AI boost

The investor lawsuit is related to Bolt securing a $30 million personal loan to Ryan Breslow, which was later defaulted on.

Bolt founder Ryan Breslow wants to settle an investor lawsuit by returning $37 million worth of shares

Meta, the parent company of Facebook, launched an enterprise version of the prominent social network in 2015. It always seemed like a stretch for a company built on a consumer…

With the end of Workplace, it’s fair to wonder if Meta was ever serious about the enterprise

X, formerly Twitter, turned TweetDeck into X Pro and pushed it behind a paywall. But there is a new column-based social media tool in town, and it’s from Instagram Threads.…

Meta Threads is testing pinned columns on the web, similar to the old TweetDeck

As part of 2024’s Accessibility Awareness Day, Google is showing off some updates to Android that should be useful to folks with mobility or vision impairments. Project Gameface allows gamers…

Google expands hands-free and eyes-free interfaces on Android

A hacker listed the data allegedly breached from Samco on a known cybercrime forum.

Hacker claims theft of India’s Samco account data

A top European privacy watchdog is investigating following the recent breaches of Dell customers’ personal information, TechCrunch has learned.  Ireland’s Data Protection Commission (DPC) deputy commissioner Graham Doyle confirmed to…

Ireland privacy watchdog confirms Dell data breach investigation

Ampere and Qualcomm aren’t the most obvious of partners. Both, after all, offer Arm-based chips for running data center servers (though Qualcomm’s largest market remains mobile). But as the two…

Ampere teams up with Qualcomm to launch an Arm-based AI server

At Google’s I/O developer conference, the company made its case to developers — and to some extent, consumers — why its bets on AI are ahead of rivals. At the…

Google I/O was an AI evolution, not a revolution

TechCrunch Disrupt has always been the ultimate convergence point for all things startup and tech. In the bustling world of innovation, it serves as the “big top” tent, where entrepreneurs,…

Meet the Magnificent Six: A tour of the stages at Disrupt 2024

There’s apparently a lot of demand for an on-demand handyperson. Khosla Ventures and Pear VC have just tripled down on their investment in Honey Homes, which offers up a dedicated…

Khosla Ventures, Pear VC triple down on Honey Homes, a smart way to hire a handyman

TikTok is testing the ability for users to upload 60-minute videos, the company confirmed to TechCrunch on Thursday. The feature is available to a limited group of users in select…

TikTok tests 60-minute video uploads as it continues to take on YouTube

Flock Safety is a multibillion-dollar startup that’s got eyes everywhere. As of Wednesday, with the company’s new Solar Condor cameras, those eyes are solar-powered and use wireless 5G networks to…

Flock Safety’s solar-powered cameras could make surveillance more widespread

Since he was very young, Bar Mor knew that he would inevitably do something with real estate. His family was involved in all types of real estate projects, from ground-up…

Agora raises $34M Series B to keep building the Carta for real estate

Poshmark, the social commerce site that lets people buy and sell new and used items to each other, launched a paid marketing tool on Thursday, giving sellers the ability to…

Poshmark’s ‘Promoted Closet’ tool lets sellers boost all their listings at once

Google is launching a Gemini add-on for educational institutes through Google Workspace.

Google adds Gemini to its Education suite

More money for the generative AI boom: Y Combinator-backed developer infrastructure startup Recall.ai announced Thursday it has raised a $10 million Series A funding round, bringing its total raised to over…

YC-backed Recall.ai gets $10M Series A to help companies use virtual meeting data

Engineers Adam Keating and Jeremy Andrews were tired of using spreadsheets and screenshots to collab with teammates — so they launched a startup, CoLab, to build a better way. The…

CoLab’s collaborative tools for engineers line up $21M in new funding

Reddit announced on Wednesday that it is reintroducing its awards system after shutting down the program last year. The company said that most of the mechanisms related to awards will…

Reddit reintroduces its awards system

Sigma Computing, a startup building a range of data analytics and business intelligence tools, has raised $200 million in a fresh VC round.

Sigma is building a suite of collaborative data analytics tools